08
Sep
09

a continuation of my thoughts in the last post

I guess it makes sense that politics are largely based on fear, and appeals to people who feel marginalized and powerless. I’m reading Nixonland right now (and holy shit, is that a long book), and the central theme is that the 60’s gave rise to a culture war in which both sides felt like they were oppressed, and helpless to do anything about it. And so, I suppose that if I were smarter, I would say “of course the media, even the non-mainstream media, are playing up the fear angle here. They nurse the sense that the country is dissolving and each side is actively working to destroy what the other side thinks of as ‘America’, because that’s how political discourse works in this country”. And then I would stop worrying about it and know that it’s pretty much going to be more or less the same as it always was. But man, I really wish I wasn’t so obsessed with the idea that the lunatic fringe is dominating political debate in this country, in a way that is detrimental to us all. And I wish I didn’t feel like the line between “reasonable cynicism” and “conspiracy-minded paranoia” was so blurry. Why is it that the dominant force in advertising and in politics, in the most powerful country in the world, is fear?

0 Responses to “a continuation of my thoughts in the last post”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

A MAN AGAINST INSANITY by Paul de Kruif.
The story of a doctor who conquered his own insanity and now shows others the way back, by the author of Microbe Hunters.
"An old master Paul de Kruif surely is. His latest book has pace, it has style, it has a sharply drawn hero, and, most important, it tells one of the great stories of our times." -Washington Post and Times Herald.

I found that in the back of a copy of Nova Express by William S. Burroughs.

My name is Alex and I live in LA the Bay Area.

Blog Stats

  • 84,097 hits

