05
Aug
09

while I’m ragging on the Huffington Post..


I honestly do very much enjoy reading Huffington Post, and it is the first political site I go to every day. The general politics of the site are frequently very close to my own views. However, I think that they have a sort of editorial schizophrenia, in which they are unable to decide if they are a “real” news outlet, or more of a web 2.0 blog free-for-all kind of thing. Personally I’d like to see them going more in a “real” news direction, with less obvious bias in their reporting. I mean, I tend to agree with the perspectives expressed in their news articles, but, for example, when Huffington Post and DailyKOS (which I don’t read because it is too insanely biased and smarmy) reported on the woman that thought a national guard site was a FEMA blacksite, both websites reported as fact that she was acting that way because she was a Glenn Beck fan and he was making people crazy. But it didn’t really seem like there was conclusive evidence of that, rather that DailyKOS made that connection, and then Huffington Post ran it as an established fact. I’m not saying I DON’T believe that Glenn Beck is making people act crazier, but I’d prefer to be allowed to come to that conclusion myself after being presented with the evidence. Another problem I have with Huffington Post are pages like this one. While I agree that the birthers are mostly crazy and usually pretty hilarious, I don’t really think it should be the Huffington Post’s place to be assembling videos to mock them. That’s fine for the Daily Show or Colbert Report or other websites that don’t strive to be a “real” news outlet, but if the Huffington Post wants to be “real” news, I don’t think mocking marginalized and kind-of-crazy people for partisan reasons is very appropriate. Again, if they were merely linking to something from the Daily Show or another website I might feel differently, but the fact that the video was made in-house in an effort to be hip and funny I think just undermines the Huffington Post’s credibility.

2 Responses to “while I’m ragging on the Huffington Post..”


  1. 1 rob
    August 5, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    yeah… they’re basically just a centrist-liberal political tabloid. that i can’t stop reading.

  2. 2 Michelle
    August 21, 2009 at 10:52 am

    FYI: huffington post is just TABLOID JOURNALISM

    LoL


Leave a Reply

A MAN AGAINST INSANITY by Paul de Kruif.
The story of a doctor who conquered his own insanity and now shows others the way back, by the author of Microbe Hunters.
"An old master Paul de Kruif surely is. His latest book has pace, it has style, it has a sharply drawn hero, and, most important, it tells one of the great stories of our times." -Washington Post and Times Herald.

I found that in the back of a copy of Nova Express by William S. Burroughs.

My name is Alex and I live in LA the Bay Area.

Blog Stats

  • 84,146 hits

